Duplicate Settings Across Machines


Duplicate Settings

WORK IN PROGRESS - Please understand that we are actively rewriting much of our documentation and this page is currently "under construction"; if there's anything that you'd like to see added to and/or expanded upon, please let us know by sending us a smile.



TODO Why does this document exist? What scenarios exist where someone may want to duplicate settings to another machine?



This is the process of moving the user's preferences between two machines.

TODO Need to mention that RT needs to be completely closed before continuing this process.

TODO Would also have them "go up one folder" and copy that folder instead of CTRL+A.

1. From the keyboard hit the Windows key and R at the same time and the Run Window will pop up.


2. Enter:

3. This will pop up the following folder:

CS You can also get to the following folder by using the CTRL+ALT+SHIFT+S keyboard combination on the Dashboard.


4. Copy EVERYTHING in this folder and move to some form of storage (a thumb drive or a network storage on a server).

TODO Need to make sure RT is closed on the target computer.

TODO Instead of deleting the files on the target folder; "go up a folder" and rename the existing one so that there is a backup. Walk through the process.

5.On the new computer, copy the original data from the Client45 folder to some place safe in case this process mess something up and you want to revert back. Please note that a blank Client45 folder will reset RT back to factory specs (as when it was first installed).

6. On the new computer follow steps 1-3 and over write the existing data from your storage device.

7. Close the Client 45 Folder and run RT and should have the same settings and reports as the original computer.



TODO Add any questions as they come up to this section.


Additional Information

How to rename a folder in Windows 10 (via Dummies.com)
How to copy or move files and folders in Windows 10 (via Dummies.com)