Common UI Behaviors

Edit

Common UI Behaviors

back

WORK IN PROGRESS - Please understand that we are actively rewriting much of our documentation and this page is currently "under construction"; if there's anything that you'd like to see added to and/or expanded upon, please let us know by sending us a smile.

We strive to create a very consistent user experience across all aspects of the RT product. To this end, the interface behaviors are kept as consistent as possible in order to reduce the amount of any learning curve necessary so that what you learn on one window can be applied to all other windows. The following outlines some of these behaviors.

Edit

Accessing the Help System

Pressing the F1 key will take you directly to the documentation related to that particular window by launching the default web browser registered with your system. (This does require that a default web browser be correctly configured. This is the default on all Windows installation; but can be disabled. If disabled, this feature will not work.)

Edit

Esc Key

Pressing the Esc key in most windows will closes that window.



Edit

Tabs

Many windows contain enough information that having it all displayed at one time would either be confusing and/or overwhelming; so we've grouped similar information together and placed them into seperate tabs.

You can switch to different tabs by clicking on the tab name portion of the tab:

Image


There are cases, especially when creating new entries, that fields on these tabs may be incomplete (or invalid) and to assist in discovering these we provide an attention glyph to make this situation immediately visible without having to go through every tab.

We do recommend going through every tab, especially in the beginning, to double check that all fields are what you are expecting.

Edit

Field Validation

Nearly every field in RT is validated to be as correct as we can possibly determine. Whenever a field value appears to be invalid (or incomplete), a red exclamation glyph will be positioned near the field that contains invalid (or incomplete) information.

Edit

Blocker

Image


Hovering over the red round exclamation glyph to see a short explanation of why the value is invalid (or incomplete).

Edit

Warning

The warning glyph is in place to let you know that you may want to check this issue out before clicking Ok or saving.

Image


Hovering over the yellow triangle warning glyph to see a short explanation of why the value is invalid (or incomplete).

Edit

Informative

The Informative glyph is in place to let you know that something is not set to the usual parameters.

Image


Hovering over the blue glyph to see a short explanation of why the glyph is there.

Edit

Context Menus

To help reduce on "screen noise", we utilize context menus for less often but yet still very important activities. Additionally, just as the word context implies, the options will only be available based on the current context of what you are interacting with.

Image

Nearly every list containing one or more item will have an associated context menu. To access the context menu, select the item you wish to interact by left clicking. Once selected, use the right mouse button to click on the item which will bring up the associated context menu. Select the desired activity from the list of available actions.

Note: Actions available will vary drastically depending on the type of item and the actions currently available at any particular time.



Edit

Standard Field Editors

There are several types of fields in RT that are common types of information such as dates, times, lengths, postal codes, phone numbers, email addresses, etc. Each of these are validated for correctness (as best we know). Additionally, many of these provide short-circuits that ease the data entry process.


Edit

OK, Cancel, Apply

Many windows contain three buttons located in the bottom right portion of the window allow you to commit or cancel any changes that you've made. Buttons are enabled/disabled depending on the current change state and/or validity of the changes.

Image

OK

Press the OK button to save your change(s) and close the window.

Cancel

Press the Cancel button to abort any change(s) made and close the window.

Apply

Press the Apply button to save your change(s), keeping the dialog open for further review/change(s).

Edit

Exception

Upon any exception you will be booted from the RadioTraffic software. The Exception window looks like this: Image

Just let us know what you were trying to do. And Appreciate all the info you can give. And you should be able log right back into RT.

If you continue to get these exceptions then please call Support at 214 736 1166.

Edit

Retry/Cancel

Image

This window can pop us for numerous reasons and those reasons will be specified in the box.

Edit

Splitter Bar

Quite a few windows in RadioTraffic have a Splitter Bar. This is a bar that splits the left and right panes in parts. While some splits are unmovable, the splitter bar is movable. To recognize the splitter bar is the 3 small lines in the middle of the bar halfway down the bar. With the mouse hovering over the bar and dragging with the left click of the mouse you can move the bar left and right as you like. Sometimes the splitter can be moved too far left or right and make the window look somewhat broken. You can just grab the bar and move it back to a position you like.

Image
If you want to place it back in its original position, Use the Reset tab under View in the Main Menu.

Edit

Archive/Trash

Archived

"Archived" is the "we aren't sure we want to trash it but would like it 'gone'" so that it is no longer in the workflow; meaning that anything archived will no longer be available for "future assignment". In other words, one might want to be able to see it in your daily work and also have the ability to see that has been archived. Therefore archived items will be everywhere they are supposed to be but with an "(Archived)" after them. In their base settings, you can still turn them visible/invisible with the archive feature checkmark.

Trashed

"Trashed" is Radiotraffic's delete feature, this way things can be removed from your daily routine and possibly be retrieved for reuse. We are in the process to make sure that if anything is "Trashed" it is removed from the daily workings and should only be seen in its base settings AND with the "Trashed" ability check marked.

For Reports, this is different, As something that you have trashed may and will show up in a report. For when you do see an item that has been trashed, in a report, it will show as *Trashed(###)*. The number in with "Trashed" is a reference number.